AWARDS PRESENTATIONS

LLA ANNUAL CONFERENCE

MARCH 16, 2011

CAJUNDOME CONVENTION CENTER LAFAYETTE, LA



SPONSORED BY THE LSU SCHOOL OF LIBRARY AND INFORMATION SCIENCE

Celebrating 80 Years of Library Education Excellence

AWARDS

Carla Clark, Presiding First Vice President, President-Elect, LLA

Louisiana Literary Award

LLA - Louisiana Literary Award Committee

Purpose: To recognize the author of an outstanding book about Louisiana published during the preceding calendar year. This award is presented at the Annual Conference Book Dinner.

2011 Recipient: Edwin Edwards: Governor of Louisiana by Leo Honeycutt

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS

LLA Scholarship

LLA - Scholarship Committee

Purpose: To provide financial assistance to qualified Louisiana students enrolled full-time in the Master of Library and Information Science program at Louisiana State University.

2011 Recipient: Ginger Coon

Mary Moore Mitchell Scholarship

Howard J. Ekblad, Library Interiors, Donor, LLA— Scholarship Committee Purpose: To provide financial assistance to qualified Louisiana students enrolled part-time in the Master of Library and Information Science program at Louisiana State University.

2011 Recipient: Elizabeth Colvin

Educational Foundation of the Trustee Section Award

Trustee Section

Purpose: To provide a qualified student with tuition for one or more courses in the LSU School of Library and Information Science. This award is presented at the Trustee/Public Luncheon.

2011 Recipient: Dominic Bordelon

Academic - Thorpe Associates Grassroots Grant

Thorpe Associates, Academic Section

Purpose: To encourage library science students to attend state library conferences and to recognize outstanding graduate or undergraduate library science students.

2011 Recipient: Jenifer French

Ollie H. Burns Scholarship

Diversity Interest Group, the Burns Family, SLIS

Purpose: To provide financial assistance to qualified minority students enrolled full-time or part-time in the LSU School of Library and Information Science.

2011 Recipient: Jordan Signater

Alice C. Dixon Dantro Scholarship

Diversity Interest Group, the Dantro Family, SLIS

Purpose: To provide financial assistance to a part-time SLIS student who is interested in a career in public libraries.

2011 Recipient: Julie Weber

SECTION AWARDS

Outstanding Academic Librarian Award

Academic Section

Purpose: To publicly recognize an individual who has made an especially significant contribution to further the development of academic libraries/librarians/librarianship within Louisiana.

2011 Recipient: No Award

Margaret T. Lane Award

Government Documents Round Table Section (GODORT)

Purpose: To recognize an individual or organization that has made an especially significant contribution in advancing access to or use of government information in Louisiana.

2011 Recipient: No Award

School Library Media Specialist Award

Louisiana Association of School Librarians Section (LASL)

Purpose: To give recognition to a school library media specialist who has demonstrated through action and philosophy a dedication to the mission and goals of the media specialist profession.

2011 Recipient: Elizabeth Kahn

Sue Hefley Educator of the Year Award

Louisiana Association of School Librarians Section (LASL)

Purpose: To recognize a Louisiana educator who has made an outstanding contribution to Louisiana school libraries.

2011 Recipient: No Award

Outstanding Support Staff Professional Award

Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries Section (LaSSAL)

Purpose: To honor a library support staff employee who is a member of the Louisiana Library Association and LaSSAL, who has demonstrated through action and philosophy a dedication to the mission and goals of the Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries.

2011 Recipient: Brenda Manning

Lucy B. Foote Award

Subject Specialists Section

Purpose: To honor an LLA member who has made a substantial contribution to the library profession through the field of special librarianship.

2011 Recipient: Georgia Chadwick

AWARDS

ASSOCIATION AWARDS

James O. Modisette Award for School Libraries

Louisiana Library Association

Purpose: To recognize excellence in Louisiana school library media programs.

2011 Recipients:

Elementary School: Paula Graffeo, J. Wallace James Elementary

Middle School: No Award

Junior-Senior High School: Pat Bordelon and Leslie Smith, Central High School

James O. Modisette Award for Public Libraries

Louisiana Library Association

Purpose: To encourage improvement of public library service.

2011 Recipient: Awarded Every Other Year

James O. Modisette Award for Public Library Trustees

Louisiana Library Association

Purpose: To honor distinguished service by a public library trustee to a Louisiana

public library.

2011 Recipient: Cynthia Sellers

Alex Allain Intellectual Freedom Award

LLA - Intellectual Freedom Committee

Purpose: To recognize the contribution of an individual or group who/which has

actively promoted intellectual freedom in Louisiana.

2011 Recipient: No Award

Anthony H. Benoit Mid-Career Award

Louisiana Library Association

Purpose: To recognize a Louisiana librarian in mid-career who has made

outstanding contributions to the field of librarianship.

2011 Recipient: Vivian McCain

LLA Meritorious Service Award

Louisiana Library Association

Purpose: To publicly recognize an individual who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary leadership and service to further the development, services, visibility,

and/or policies of LLA.

2011 Recipient: No Award

Essae M. Culver Distinguished Service Award

Louisiana Library Association

Purpose: To honor an LLA member whose distinguished service to the profession and whose professional achievements have been of particular value to Louisiana librarianship.

2011 Recipient: Lilly F. Smith

LLA Officers

President - Randy De Soto 1st Vice President/President-Elect - Carla Clark 2nd Vice President - Michael Sawyer Secretary - Jan McGee

Immediate Past President - Melanie Sims ALA Councilor - Stephanie Braunstein Academic Section - Don Smith

GODORT Section - Rita Franks

LASL Section - Elizabeth Dumas LaSSAL Section - Jane Vidrine Public Section - Wendy Bobo Subject Specialists Section - Charlene Bonnette Trustee Section - Dinah Williams Louisiana Libraries Editor - Vivian Solar

Executive Director - Bland O'Connor